

Forum

"E-voting: possibilities and challenges for its implementation in Mexico"

Date: August 16 – 19, 2022

The event will be held virtually through the INE YouTube channel.

Objective: To analyze the feasibility of implementing electronic voting in Mexican federal electoral processes, in order to identify the modalities for its application, with the purpose of increasing efficiency and citizen participation in our elections, based on a comparative perspective.

Agenda

Tuesday, August 16

10:00 - 10:30 7 minutes per intervention	Inauguration Carla Humphrey Jordan Electoral Councilor and President of the Electoral Organization Commission Dr. Reyes Rodríguez Mondragón Chief Justice of the High Chamber of the Electoral Tribunal of the Federal Judiciary Dr. Lorenzo Córdova Vianello President Councilor of the National Electoral Institute	
10 minutes break		

Session 1. Electronic voting. Modalities of its application

10:40 - 12:00

the moderator

Characteristics of electronic voting Mtro. Giuseppe Dutra Janino International Consultant in Digital Elections

20 minutes per presentation 15 minutes for questions 5 minutes presentation by Application of electronic voting in comparative perspective

Dr. José Thompson

Director of the Center of Electoral Promotion and Assistance of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights.

Aspects to consider for the implementation of electronic voting in Mexico Dra. Ninfa Elizabeth Hernández Trejo

Academician of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)

Moderator: Electoral Councilor, Carla Astrid Humphrey Jordan

Wednesday, August 17

	Session 2. Electronic voting and computer security
	Dr. José Reynoso Núñez
	Professor at <i>Universidad Panamericana</i> (Guadalajara campus)
	Dr. Jordi Barrat
10:00 - 11:40	Professor at Rovira i Virgil University
15 minutes per	Ing. Jorge Torres Antuñano
presentation	General Coordinator of the Informatics Services Unit
15 minutes for questions	Lic. Carlos Ramón Guevara
5 minutes presentation by the moderator	Responsible for IT security at the Electoral Tribunal of Panama
	Mtro. Ricardo Andrés Cacho García
	Professor at the <i>Universidad Iberoamericana</i> and <i>Universidad</i> Panamericana
	Moderator: Electoral Councilor, Mtra. Beatriz Claudia Zavala Pérez
	5 minutes hreak

5 minutes break

Session 3. Electronic voting legislation Dra. Alejandra Lazzaro Deputy Clerk of the National Supreme Court of Justice of Argentina 11:45 - 13:05 Dr. Cesar Astudillo Researcher at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) 15 minutes per presentation Dr. Carlos Leyva 15 minutes for questions Advisor on Electoral Matters of the National Registry of the Civil State of 5 minutes presentation by Colombia the moderator Dip. Graciela Sánchez Ortiz President of the Political-Electoral Reform Commission of the Mexican Chamber of Deputies.

Thursday, August 18

Moderator: Electoral Councilor, Mtra. Dania Paola Ravel Cuevas

	Session 4. International experiences on electronic voting	
10:00 - 11:05	Dr. Navin Chawla Former Chairman of the Election Commission of India	
15 minutes per presentation 15 minutes for questions 5 minutes presentation by the moderator	Mr. Oliver Kask Chairman of the Estonian Election Commission	
	Mr. Paul de Gregorio Former Chairman of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission	
	Moderator: Electoral Councilor Mtro. Jaime Rivera Velázquez	
5 minutes break		

Session 5. Implementation of electronic voting in Latin America

Dr. Julio Valente

Secretary of Information Technology of the Superior Electoral Court of

Dr. Piero Corvetto

11:10 - 12:50

15 minutes per

the moderator

15 minutes for questions 5 minutes presentation by

presentation

National Chief of the National Office of Electoral Processes of Peru

Lic. Fausto Von Strebern

Director of Information and Communication Technologies of the Superior Tribunal of Electoral Justice of Paraguay

Lic. Carlos Enrique Quintero

Rector of the National Electoral Council of Venezuela

Luis Espíndola Morales

Magistrate of the Specialized Regional Court of the Electoral Tribunal of the Federal Judiciary

Moderator: Electoral Councilor Mtra. Norma Irene de la Cruz Magaña.

Friday, August 19

	Session 6. Electronic voting mechanisms in Mexico
	Mtra. Lirio Guadalupe Suárez Améndola
	President Councilor of the Electoral Institute of the State of Campeche
	Mtra. Gabriela María De León Farías
10:00 - 11:40	President Councilor of the Electoral Institute of Coahuila
15 minutes per	Mtra. Paula Ramírez Höne
presentation	President Councilor of the Electoral and Citizen Participation Institute of
20 minutes for questions 5 minutes presentation by	the State of Jalisco
the moderator	Mtra. Patricia Avendaño Duran
	President Councilor of the Electoral Institute of Mexico City
	Mtro. Moisés Bates Aguilar
	President Councilor of the Electoral and Citizen Participation Institute of
	Yucatan
	Moderator: Electoral Councilor Mtro. José Martín Fernando Faz Mora

5 minutes break

11:45 - 12:50 5 minutes per	Session 7. Implementation of electronic voting: perspectives of national political parties
	Dip. Humberto Aguilar Coronado National Action Party (Partido Acción Nacional –PAN-)
	Sen. Jorge Carlos Ramírez Marín Institutional Revolutionary Party (Partido Revolucionario Institucional – PRI-)
	Sen. Juan Manuel Fócil Pérez Democratic Revolution Party (Partido de la Revolución Democrática – PRD-)
presentation 25 minutes for questions 5 minutes presentation by	Dip. Pedro Vázquez González Labor Party (Partido del Trabajo -PT-)
the moderator	Dip. Karen Castrejón Trujillo Ecologist Green Party of Mexico (Partido Verde Ecologista de México – PVEM-)
	Dip. Ivonne Aracely Ortega Pacheco Citizen Movement (Movimiento Ciudadano –MC-)
	Dip. César Agustín Hernández Pérez Morena (Morena)
	Moderator: Electoral Councilor Dra. Adriana M. Favela Herrera
	5 minutes break
	Closing remarks
	Carla Humphrey Jordan Electoral Councilor and President of the Electoral Organization Commission
12:55 - 13:25 7 minutes per intervention 5 minutes presentation by the moderator	Mtro. Jaime Rivera Velázquez Electoral Councilor and member of the Electoral Organization Commission
	Mtra. Claudia Zavala Pérez Electoral Councilor of the National Electoral Institute
	Dr. Lorenzo Córdova Vianello President Councilor of the National Electoral Institute

Moderator: Mtro. Sergio Bernal Rojas, Executive Director of Electoral Organization